Deaf Interpreter Knowledge Based Test
In order to take the Deaf Interpreter Knowledge Based Test, an applicant must have completed 8 contact hours of Ethics (RID Code of Professional Conduct) and 8 contact hours on the role and responsibilities of Certified Deaf Interpreters within 3 years prior to the date of application.
For the best results, we suggest you download the PDF to your computer and complete the form using the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader rather than completing the PDF through your web browser. You can download Adobe Acrobat Reader for free from the Adobe website.
Testing Fees & Payment
The required fee is $80 (out of state residents pay an additional $35 fee).
|Where You Live
|In State Candidate (Illinois)
|Out Of State Candidate
Electronic payment is the only accepted form of payment. To complete the electronic payment, please click on the ePay logo on the left or click on the full url: https://magic.collectorsolutions.com/magic-ui/Login/il-dhhc
Important: Select One-Time Payment on the left side to make a one-time payment. Select Payment Category & Type: IL-BEI Certification & Testing Fees then Testing or Out of State Residents. Mark check IL BEI TEP Fee.
You are required to submit copies of the certificates with the required 8/8 contact hours. See Section 1515.50 b) of the Interpreter for the Deaf Licensure Act Rules
Illinois Deaf and Hard of Hearing Commission
528 S. 5th Street, Suite 209
Springfield, IL 62701
- Arrive 15 minutes before your scheduled test time. Register with the test monitor and complete required paperwork.
- Bring current photo identification with you. Acceptable types of identification include driver’s license, government identification, or current passport.
- Observe testing procedures to ensure that each person has equal testing time and that the operation of the testing site meets the criteria for standardized testing. The success of the test administration depends on your cooperation with these procedures.
- Set all electronic communication devices in the OFF position.
- Eating is not permitted in the testing room. You may bring in bottled water into the testing room.
- You will not be allowed to leave the testing room once the test has begun. It is recommended that you visit the restroom before your scheduled test time. If at any time during the test you leave the testing room, you will not be allowed to return and complete the test.
- The test monitor will tell you when to start and when to stop working on the written test. Do not read or work on the test during a time not authorized by the test monitor. The test monitor will observe you throughout the test.
- The time allowed to complete the written test is one hour and 45 minutes.
- At the end of the test session, you will be required to return the test booklet and answer sheet to the test monitor. Do NOT remove test materials or notes from the testing room.
- You will receive notification of your test results within 30 days from the date of the exam.
- You must have at least 33 questions correct out of 46 questions on the test to pass.
- If you pass your exam, you are eligible to apply for licensure at the intermediate proficiency level. You must submit the required application and licensure fees. Please see the Interpreter Licensure Forms page for more details. http://www2.illinois.gov/idhhc/Pages/interplic.aspx
- If you do not pass the exam you must wait 6 months before applying to take the exam again.